

# HONG KONG UNIVERSITY ALUMNI ASSOCIATION

## 香港大學校友會

Room 101, 1/F, Yip Fung Building, 2 D'Aguilar Street, Central, Hong Kong Tel: +852 2522 7968 (Dining Services); +852 3421 1218 (General Enquiries) Fax: +852 2523 2660 E-mail: <u>hkuaaoffice@hkuaa.hk</u> Website: <u>www.hkuaa.org.hk</u>

## MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE HONG KONG UNIVERSITY ALUMNI ASSOCIATION HELD AT THE ASSOCIATION PREMISES ON TUESDAY, 10<sup>th</sup> OCTOBER, 2023

Present:	Ms. Catherine Y. L. CHEUNG	張儀玲	(President)
	Ms. Kitty K. L. TSE	謝潔玲	(Vice-President)
	Ms. Agnes P. T. CHEUNG	張珮婷	(Hon. Secretary)
	Mr. Danny F. L. LI	李魁隆	(Hon. Treasurer)
	Mr. Joseph H. C. CHONG	莊學正	
	Mr. Paul W. C. HO	何偉志	
	Mr. Brian HUI	許沛然	
	Mr. Alex C. H. LAI	賴振鴻	
	Dr. Dicky LAM	林迪基	
	Mr. Tony H. Y. LAU	劉漢耀	
	Ms. Stella K. Y. LAW	羅珏瑜	
	Mr. Lawrence T. T. LI	李浚霆	
	Dr. Evelyn Y. F. MAN	文綺芬	
	Mr. Kenny K. F. NG	吳健暉	
	Mr. Jeffrey C. F. SHAM	沈智輝	
	Mr. TSE Sik-yan	謝錫恩	
	Mr. Thomas M. T. TSO	曹萬泰	
	Mr. Kyle K. H. WONG	王家豪	
	Mr. Ronnie T. P. YEUNG	楊定邦	
	Mr. Patrick W. T. YEUNG	楊偉添	
	Dr. William W. T. YIP	葉永達	
	Mr. David Y. K. YIP	葉潤堃	
	Ms. Janet P. F. CHUNG	鍾佩芬	(Rep. from HKU)
In-attendance:	Ms. Vicky ZHENG	鄭蓉蓉	(Operations Officer)
	Ms. Alisa CHUNG	鍾麗嫦	(Operations Officer)
	Ms. Minda LAU	劉淑敏	(Staff)
	Ms. CHENG Yee-fong	鄭懿芳	(Staff)
	Mr. LAU Chi On	劉志安	(Staff)
			、

The meeting was called to order by President Ms. Catherine Y. L. CHEUNG at 6:52 p.m.

## 1. Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting

Proposed by Mr. Alex C. H. LAI and seconded by Mr. Kenny K. F. NG, the minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held on 11<sup>th</sup> October, 2022 were received and adopted.

#### 2. Hon. Secretary's Annual Report

Proposed by Mr. Jeffrey C. F. SHAM and seconded by Dr. Evelyn Y. F. MAN, the Hon. Secretary's Annual Report for the year 2022-23 was received and adopted.

#### 3. Hon. Treasurer's Annual Statement of Accounts

Mr. Danny F. L. LI took members through the Annual Statement of Accounts and reported that a deficit of \$633,922 was recorded for the year. Based on the valuation conducted by CHFT Advisory and Appraisal Limited, the fair value of the Association's leasehold land and buildings as at 31<sup>st</sup> January, 2023 was \$66.1 million.

Proposed by Mr. Kenny K. F. NG and seconded by Mr. Paul W. C. HO, the Hon. Treasurer's Annual Statement of Accounts for the year ended 31<sup>st</sup> January, 2023 was received and adopted.

## 4. Appointment of Hon. Auditor

Proposed by Mr. TSE Sik-yan and seconded by Mr. Alex C. H. LAI, WYN CPA Limited, with Mr. Alex Y. W. YIU as its Director, was re-appointed as the Association's Hon. Auditor.

#### 5. Appointment of Hon. Legal Advisor

Proposed by Mr. Joseph H. C. CHONG and seconded by Mr. TSE Sik-yan, Mr. Raymond K. M. YIP was re-appointed as the Association's Hon. Legal Advisor.

#### 6. Election of Executive Committee Members for 2023-2025

As there was only one nomination for each of the following vacancy, the following persons were automatically elected:

Ms. Catherine Y. L CHEUNG	(President)
Mr. Vincent W. S. WONG	(Vice-President)
Mr. Jeffrey C. F. SHAM	(Vice-President)
Ms. Agnes P. T. CHEUNG	(Hon. Secretary)
Mr. Paul W. C. HO	(Hon. Treasurer)

There were eleven other vacancies for Exco Members, and eleven nominations had been received. Since the number of nominations was the same as the number of vacancies, the following persons were elected en bloc *ipso facto*.

- 1. Ms. Lucy T. P. CHEUNG
- 3. Mr. Tony H. Y. LAU
- 5. Mr. Kenny K. F. NG
- 7. Ms. Kitty K. L. TSE
- 9. Mr. Patrick W. T. YEUNG
- 11. Mr. David Y. K. YIP
- 2. Mr. Alex C. H. LAI
- 4. Mr Lawrence T. T. LI
- 6. Mr. Thomas M. T. TSO
- 8. Mr. Ronnie T. P. YEUNG
- 10. Dr. William W. T. YIP

Proposed by President CHEUNG and seconded by Dr. Evelyn Y. F. MAN, the above results were adopted. President CHEUNG declared that the term of office of the above Exco Members would be two years, from  $10^{\text{th}}$  October, 2023 to the AGM of 2025.

#### 7. A.O.B.

President CHEUNG expressed her appreciation to all Exco Members for their effort and dedication in organising a variety of events over the past year. She wished the Association continued success in the year ahead and specifically thanked the House & Bar Sub-Committee for their hard work in ensuring a seamless transition to the new caterer, Drawing Room Concepts ("DRC").

Newly elected as the Vice-President, Mr. Jeffrey SHAM expressed gratitude for members' trust in him, and he was optimistic that the new caterer would perform well moving forward.

Mr. TSE Sik-yan proposed a vote of thanks to President CHEUNG for her great leadership of the Executive Committee in guiding the Association through this new chapter.

Mr. Alex LAI proposed a vote of thanks to Mr. Danny LI for his outstanding service as the Hon. Treasurer over the past decades. His unwavering commitment and financial acumen had been invaluable to the Association.

There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:30 p.m.

Ms. Catherine Y. L. CHEUNG President Ms. Agnes P. T. CHEUNG Hon. Secretary